Kid goats

Last weekend was Wild West Winterfest in Bozeman. I went on Sunday afternoon, at the beginning of the cold snap (it’s currently -15 F there, but I’m in Dallas, Texas). At Winterfest, I really wanted to see the ski joring, which is when a horse and rider tow a skier racer through a course of jumps.

Just as I was thinking of leaving the house, Pat decided he had to have a haircut. I kind of gave him a mini-mullet, because he got antsy so I stopped before I was done cutting. And I missed the ski joring. But I did get to go to the petting barn and the doggy keg pull.

In the barn, I saw llamas, dairy cows, a grumpy Shetland pony, some freaked out sheep, and some chickens and goats. One chicken kept asking the other if her butt looked big.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the animal petting area, a three-day-old kid goat was shivering and cold. A little girl with a pink and purple snowsuit chased him around, and he ran over to me and buried his head in my lap. He looked a lot like a bunny.

I’ve wanted a goat for several years, so I talked to the woman who owned the animals. She said the kids were $10, and goats are great. They’re social, so if you have just one, it’ll be peering in your kitchen window all the time because it wants to be with you. Also, goats will eat the yard. They are good for packing, milk and cheese, hanging out, and “just about anything.” It was all I could do not to come home with one, but I knew Nick would kill me.

About Emily Stifler

I grew up in Vermont and live in Bozeman, Montana. I love topography: mountains, rocks, weather and people.
This entry was posted in Climbing, Montana. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

