A tow truck and a trash bag

A week ago it was too hot. Last night it snowed. Must be fall.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Two of these photos deserve explanation.

The Batmobile getting towed. When Carly and I went climbing a few weeks ago, my truck started making this high pitched blubbery noise on the way out of town. It got worse, so we turned around. I stalled out at Huffine and 23rd, and my battery died. So, I got a $75 tow to Fosters, and Carly, Boots and I walked to get Carly’s little blue car. Backpacking thought our own town, time slowed down … for a minute.

Then I forked over $125 for a new serpentine belt tensioner, and we took Carly’s rig to Gallatin Canyon and climbed Flotsam and Jetsam, an ass-kicking route that may be the Canyon’s best 5.10.

And the trash bag. When my mother thinks someone is really attractive, she says, “So-and-so would look good in a trash bag.” Well, Rose made that bag look really good.

We went to the Clarky last weekend for Dirt Fest 2011 part II, and spent two days rappelling fixed ropes, hacking at the moss, lichen and briars, and trundling giant boulders into the river. Rose forgot her rainjacket, so fitted herself with this useless but cute number to ward off the storm that never came. I think our route is going to be good. And clean. And a little scary. I haven’t led the first pitch yet.

About Emily Stifler

I grew up in Vermont and live in Bozeman, Montana. I love topography: mountains, rocks, weather and people.
This entry was posted in Climbing, Montana, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A tow truck and a trash bag

  1. Cody says:

    Is that something your mother came up with, or is it an old phrase I’ve never heard before?

Leave a Reply

